William Christenberry Photographs, 1961-2005

During my black & white photography class, I became very interested in rural photography. I spent a year in New York City after graduating with a BS from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. I had plenty of time to decide what I wanted to do with my life, in New York, and in the process, I decided on Art School. It was during this time I fell in love with the surroundings I had tried to leave behind. I began to see the beauty in parts of americana that I had not noticed all my life. Old signage, farms, decaying barns, there is so much beauty in the American South and William Christenberry recognized this beauty in his home state of Alabama. I am so inspired by his mixed media, sculpture & photography. His exhibition starts this week…

Aperture Gallery
547 West 27th Street, 4th floor | New York, NY 10001
Hours: Tuesday-Saturday 10:00a.m.-6:00p.m.

*update on August hours*:
Monday-Friday 10am-6pm

Opening reception with Artist: Thursday, July 6 6-8p.m.
Exhibition on view: Friday, July 7, 2006 – Thursday, August 17, 2006

for more information on William Christenberry go to ChristenberryOnline.com 

technorati tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

